Skip to main content

About Us

A History of Public Health

In 2000, the Nebraska Legislature enacted Legislative Bill 1436, allocating millions of dollars to the Tobacco Free Network of Nebraska from the Tobacco Settlement Fund (Nebraska's share of the Multi state Master Settlement Agreement) over a three year period.  This helped expand, create, and coordinate the existing tobacco coalitions in Nebraska.  In the year 2001, Legislative Bill 692  provided $11 million to expand Nebraska's statewide public health system.  Until 2001 local public health departments only served 22 of the 93 counties in Nebraska.  As a result of Legislative Bill 692 almost all of Nebraska's counties have access to local or district health departments.   

Today, Two Rivers Public Health Department is honored to serve the counties of Buffalo, Dawson, Franklin, Gosper, Harlan, Kearney, and Phelps.


In accordance with LB 71-1626, Two Rivers Public Health Department strives to provide the 10 essential public health services in the district.